Day 48 – Snow Sucks Ass

What a cold past few days, not to mention the crap-ton of snow we got. Man.
I’m not built for cold weather and I’m definitely not built for 10″ of powdered rain all of over damn place.  It’s not just the cold it’s the hassle and frustration that goes along with the snow part of it.    Kentucky has four distinct seasons, none of which are too extreme.  The worst part of Kentucky weather (in my opinion) is the humidity in the summer.  Trying to breath on a hot, humid day here is like soaking a wool blanket in water and wrapping it around your head. Seriously.  We don’t have bad winters either. Usually we get a “dusting” of snow….in like… March otherwise we get some bouts of freezing rain but it’s nowhere near often enough to claim ‘bad winters.’  When I was a kid we always went to school so I guess we had even more mild winters than we do now- or maybe we were just tougher kids.  Kids nowadays get out of school for cold temperatures alone. WHAT?!?! This really confuses me because I know damn well that kids up in Michigan and Canada go to school in the winter and they have waaaaay worse conditions.  Cold temperatures suck but co’mon now… you’re gonna cancel school… like all day because it’s -5° outside?  How about tell your dumb kid to put on a coat, hat, scarf, gloves and boots and be warm instead of trying to look cool in a hoodie and Toms. 
Maybe I’m just being grouchy because NO SCHOOL means the kids are home with me, all day for three days (so far) getting on my last nerve with their bickering.  Not to mention all the noise they make while I’m trying to study and take test. Online students don’t get a snow day.  Hahaha

My oldest daughter has stayed here for the past few nights because she lives in the next hucklebug town over.  I keep her little girl while she works and it wasn’t safe for them to travel the country roads home.  The funniest thing ever- – when she got here after work she saw that my van had pulled out of the driveway so she assumed she could just pull right in without problem. WRONG!  😂 She didn’t see that the snowplow had been by and filled the top of my driveway up with a snowbank.  She pulled into it and got stuck.  Next thing I know, I’m outside shoveling the snow out from under her car while she’s snapping pictures for instagram. (Wth look on face inserted here)

I did manage to laugh my butt off at my husband while he tried to get his truck out of the front yard.  Omg I laughed until I was crying.  He’d pull up and rock back, pull up and rock back… he could not get past one slick spot.  I texted him to come get the cat litter. He did. Didn’t work though.  Then I watched as he put a piece of firewood under the tire in hope to gain some traction to get past the slick spot.  Didn’t work.  As I’m wiping the tears from my face he takes a long piece of cardboard, from when he bought ceiling lights for my workshop, and he crammed it under the tire.  When he gave the truck a little gas the tire grabbed the 4′ cardboard box and flew it across the front yard. When he got out of his truck to see why he wasn’t getting anywhere I fell out. The look on his face when he saw the cardboard all the way up by the house stole my breath I was laughing so hard.  He was so pissed.  When he came back inside I offered him to take my van. Guess what? He got in and drove it straight up the snow covered driveway and all the way to work without issue.
Make fun of my momma van one mo’ gin.
Hahahaha

The city ordinance states that snow must be removed from sidewalks. So my husband went outside and shoveled the sidewalk and around the cars where it had fallen overnight.  While he’s out there our 75 year old neighbor Lee, cranked up his snowblower.  What made it so funny was that Lee was oblivious to the fact he was blowing snow all over our driveway and cars LOL😂   My husband just kept shoveling. When he came back inside he said Lee stopped him after he was done clearing the sidewalk to tell him that he was heading over to clear it for us with his snowblower but it was already done…  Hahahahahaha…
Isn’t that how it always goes?

image

3 thoughts on “Day 48 – Snow Sucks Ass

Leave a Reply

