The Interview

I was asked if I could be interviewed for a school paper- of course I agreed.  The questions started simply, “Where did you grow up?” and “What’s your favorite food?” These questions were answered with some thought.     “Grow up?” What does this mean exactly? I lived all over the place during adolescence. Is this like, middle school/high school years? And, my favorite food? What are you asking me? What would I want to eat if it was the only thing I could eat for the rest of my life or, are you asking me what food I’d choose if it were my last? These would have different answers. I need specifics. 

More questions came, “What was the moment you knew you had to grow up?” and “What advice would you give a kid today?”  These took a little thought, but still, not a great challenge.    Of course I’m still in the process of “growing up.” People never stop growing. And the only advice I would give a kid, “Just be the best you that you can be… find your passion and never give up.” 

The last question was, “If you could change anything in your life, what would it be?”  The answer came as involuntarily as breathing, “NOTHING!!! I would not change a single moment in my life!!” 

The interviewer seemed taken aback by my answer: She assumed that everyone would change something if given a chance.  But not me; I wouldn’t change a thing!  Because of the awkward silence I went on to say “I wouldn’t change anything because if I did, I don’t know where I’d be right now… or if my kids would exist… my grand-babies. One small change in my life, one tiny step, could erase all that is and I couldn’t imagine my life without my kids. They’re everything to me.”   

That was the end of the interview. I don’t know why the kid wanted to interview me but I’m glad she did.  

One thought on “The Interview

  1. i loved it. I wouldn’t change anything…..what we have done is what brought us here….change one thing…it’s like the million butterfly effect thingy…change one thing….and I could have been a rapper…god knows how that would turn out.

    Like

Leave a Reply

